FYI: Seachem Stability Fishless Cycle Log

Xoli

Reaction score
Country
Mexico
Ok, so I am a complete noob at having an aquarium of any kind. So when my wife and I decided on getting an axolotl we had no idea what was in store! But we've managed to keep Xoli happy and healthy for the most part, and it's so work seeing that cute face seem to light up when it sees us (obviously because it thinks it might get some food).

Anyway, I didn't know about cycling a tank and found SO MUCH confusing information on the matter that it was overwhelming just figuring out how to start. To help me in this process I decided to keep a simple log. I have decided to do a fishless cycle on my 10 gallon tank using Seachem's Stability product (a jump-starting element that says will rapidly establish the good bacteria needed in the tank).
I will confess that first I tried doing a fishless cycle without Stability, but got very frustrated very quickly when I couldn't get the ammonia up by just putting food and Xoli's poop into the tank. So now here we are.

I am actually already on my third day in this cycle and decided to start logging when I saw my first sign of nitrites ever (today)!!! But I will post my first two doses individually for clarity's sake.

STARTING POINT:
10 gallon tank (20in x 10in),
Filled with dechlorinated tap water (using Seacham Prime),
Sponge filter (for up to 10 gallons),
One large slate tile, and one smaller slate tile as substrate,
Mopane log,
Java fern,
Anubia Nana rooted in fine sand within glass pod,
two small terracotta plates,
Seachem ammonia alert which I will return because it is not accurate at all!

Checking water parameters daily using API freshwater Master test kit.
Seachem Stability,
Pure ammonia and a dropper to apply it.