Green tree frogs..

Z

zach

you guys have helped me with my salamanders so now let's try frog. I am thinking of getting one, in a ten gallon with a screen. Food will be crickets, topsoil for a substrate. Also a water dish, fake plants and drift wood. Any more advice as in breedin/lightin and heating. Thanks

Hi Zach,

First things first, congratulations on your good taste! I'm just getting into these animals, like you after keeping Salamanders, and I think they are really charming... the petshop staff were sad to see them go.

Some miscellaneous thoughts:

1) What species, exactly, are you talking about? (I have now got the American treefrog, Hyla cinerea, and the European Yellow-Lemon Treefrog, Hyla savignyi. I think the latter are in danger of being confused with Hyla arborea).

2) There is stuff on the Web about the Hylids but most of it seems to be zoological info about wild populations (eg location, recordings of calls etc.)Try running a search at www.yahoo.com for green + treefrog.
I have only seen one caresheet... a need here perhaps?

3) My set-up: small plastic tanks, Repti-bowl, fine bark chippings for substrate. No lighting or heating. I'm feeding 3rd and 4th instar house crickets but want to experiment with diet.

4) One of the great things about these chaps is their call. I brought them home on the bus and every one of the other passengers wanted to know why my shopping bag was barking...!

5) I get the feeling that these are common pets in the States but interest in the UK is low. Perhaps it used to be higher? Lovely animals!!!

6) Do let us know how you get on. I'd like to swap experiences and knowledge with you so don't become a stranger :)

Best//Matt

Hey Matt,